500 Festival Breakfast at the Brickyard this Saturday

500 Festival Breakfast at the Brickyard this Saturday

Wed, 2012-05-16

1985 Indy 500 Winner Danny Sullivan to speak, 1963 Indy 500 Winner Parnelli Jones to crown the 500 Festival Queen


The 500 Festival Breakfast at the Brickyard, presented by ProLiance Energy is Saturday, May 19 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway® at 8:30 a.m.

The sold-out event will feature Indianapolis 500® champion Danny Sullivan and will be hosted by veteran motorsports commentator Mike King. Sullivan made worldwide headlines for his incredible “spin to win” victory in 1985; where he spun around 360 degrees going 200 mph down the south short chute and went on to win one of the most memorable Indianapolis 500’s in history. Sullivan’s IndyCar career spanned 12 years including 12 Indianapolis 500 starts and one PPG IndyCar World Series championship (1988).

Guests will also enjoy a hearty Hoosier breakfast, take a lap around the famed oval in their vehicle (weather permitting), tour the garages and experience Pole Day Qualifications for the 2012 Indianapolis 500® (immediately following the event). Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard will salute Hoosier mayors from across the state in attendance in celebration of the month of May in Indiana. In addition, the 2012 500 Festival Queen will be crowned.

On the 50th Anniversary of his 1962 pole position, Parnelli Jones will crown the 2012 500 Festival Queen. Jones is revered as one of the greatest racers in Indianapolis Motor Speedway history. He took the pole position in 1962 after becoming the first driver to lap in excess of 150 mph. In 1963 Jones was on the pole, and went on to win the Indianapolis 500, the Greatest Spectacle in Racing.  He remained involved in Indy car racing as a team owner, scoring 53 wins.

Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard will salute more than 60 Hoosier mayors from across the state in attendance in celebration of the month of May in Indiana. The 500 Festival Breakfast at the Brickyard, presented by ProLiance Energy is sponsored by ProLiance Energy, Ice Miller, AAA Hoosier Motor Club, Crowe Horwath, Indianapolis Motor Speedway®, WIBC and WTHR Channel 13.


Saturday, May 19

Breakfast at the Brickyard program begins at 8:30 a.m.

500 Festival Queen Coronation at approximately 10:10 a.m.


Indianapolis Motor Speedway® Plaza Pavilion


Jack Woods, City of Alexandria

Norman Yoder, City of Auburn

Donnie Hastings Jr., City of Aurora

Richard Fledderman, City of Batesville

Shawna Girgis, City of Bedford

Dennis Buckley, City of Beech Grove

Bill McKean, City of Berne

John Flickinger, City of Bicknell

Ted Ellis, City of Bluffton

Ryan Daniel, Columbia City

Kristen Brown, City of Columbus

Leonard Urban, City of Connersville

Bradley Crain, City of Covington

Todd Barton, City of Crawfordsville

Randy Strasser, City of Delphi

Ronald Arnold, City of Elwood

Chris McBarnes, City of Frankfort

Joe McGuinness, City of Franklin

Karen Freeman-Wilson, City of Gary

Sue Murray, City of Greencastle

Doug Hedrick, City of Greendale

Richard Pasco, City of Greenfield

Gary Herbert, City of Greensburg

Mark Myers, City of Greenwood

Ben Hodgin, Hartford City

Brian Snedecor, City of Hobart

Denny Spinner, City of Huntingburg

Greg Ballard, City of Indianapolis

Roy L. Terrell Sr., City of Jasonville

Greg Goodnight, City of Kokomo

Dean Jessup, City of Lawrence

Dennis Carr, City of Lawrenceburg

Huck Lewis, City of Lebanon

John Wilkes, City of Linton


Ted Franklin, City of Logansport

Noel Harty, City of Loogootee

Wayne Seybold, City of Marion

Phil Deckard, City of Martinsville

Dave Wood, City of Mishawaka

Gary Pruett, City of Mitchell

Ken Houston, City of Monticello

Larry Thompson, City of Nappanee

Jeff Gahan, City of New Albany

Terry McDonald, City of New Haven

Harold Campbell, City of North Vernon

Hugh Wirth, City of Oakland City

Jim Walker, City of Peru

Jon Craig, City of Petersburg

Mark Senter, City of Plymouth

James Snyder, City of Portage

Randy Geesaman, City of Portland

Robert Hurst, City of Princeton

Stephen Wood, City of Rensselaer

Mark Smiley, City of Rochester

Mike Pavey, City of Rushville

Craig Luedeman, City of Seymour

Jesse Testruth, City of Southport

Clint Lamb, City of Sullivan

Duke Bennett, City of Terre Haute

Don Havens, City of Tipton

Bryan Conklin, City of Union City

Joe Thallemer, City of Warsaw

Joe Wellman, City of Washington

Steven Croyle, City of Winchester

Richard Hoeppner, City of Woodburn


Do not show on home page: