500 Festival Announces Elected Officers, New Additions to its Board of Directors

500 Festival Announces Elected Officers, New Additions to its Board of Directors

Wed, 2015-09-09 08:30

6 Civic, Business Leaders Elected to 2015-2016 Board

INDIANAPOLIS (September 9, 2015) The 500 Festival, a nonprofit organization providing life-enriching events and celebrating the legacy of the Indianapolis 500, today announces the election of officers for its 2015-2016 board of directors. In addition, six new civic and business leaders were appointed to the 500 Festival board of directors.

Serving as the governing body of the 500 Festival, the board of directors is comprised of 35 community leaders. The board guides the strategic vision of the 500 Festival and its members act as trustees, representing the organization within the community. Committed to bettering the organization, members serve on various committees that support and enhance the 500 Festival and its more than 50 programs and events.

Elected officers for 2015-2016:

Chairman of the board: Patty Martin, senior director, Lilly Diabetes, Eli Lilly and Company

Vice chairman of the board: Justin Christian, president and CEO, BCforward

Secretary: Kris Altice, general counsel, Shiel Sexton Company, Inc.

“Patty’s limitless energy and enthusiasm for the 500 Festival, as well as the support of Eli Lilly and Company, have been an incredible asset over the years. As chairman of the board, Patty’s leadership will further enhance our mission to enrich the lives of Hoosiers,” said Bob Bryant, president and CEO of the 500 Festival. “2016 will mark a number of milestones for the Month of May, from the 100th running of the Indy 500 to the 40th OneAmerica 500 Festival Mini-Marathon and the 60th IPL 500 Festival Parade. I’m looking forward to working with our new slate of officers to maximize the impact of these milestones.”

New additions to the board of directors:

Allison Melangton, senior vice president, Hulman Motorsports Corporation

As senior vice president, Allison is responsible for the production of major events at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, including the Indianapolis 500, the Brickyard 400, and Verizon INDYCAR Series special events. Melangton previously served on the executive leadership team of Indiana Sports Corp, most notably serving as CEO and president of the 2012 Indianapolis Super Bowl Host Committee. She has been honored with a “Sagamore of the Wabash” and recognized as a “Living Legend” by the Indiana Historical Society.  

Dennis Murphy, president and chief operating officer, Indiana University Health

Dennis Murphy is the chief operating officer for IU Health where he oversees the operation of IU Health entities throughout the system, including the administrative functions of the IU Health strategic service lines. Murphy, who will become president and CEO of IU Health in May 2016, serves on the board of directors for the Starfish Initiative as well as the executive committee for the Evening of Promise Gala benefitting the American Lung Association.

Timothy Oliver, senior vice president, JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A.

Serving as the market manager of the Indiana and Central Illinois Business Banking team since 2008, Tim Oliver is also a member of Chase Indiana’s Market Leadership Team. Tim is active within the Indiana community and has served on the board of directors for organizations such as: Joy’s House, Easter Seals Crossroads, The Indiana Youth Services and The Indiana Reparatory Theatre. 

James Poore, owner and operator, McDonald’s of Central Indiana

James Poore is the owner and operator of 4 McDonald’s Restaurants in the Indianapolis area. He currently serves as the president of the McDonald’s Co-Op of Central Indiana, is a member of the National Leadership Committee for McDonald’s and sits on the Board of Directors for Ronald McDonald House Charities in Central Indiana. James currently serves as president of the Pike YMCA Advisory Board and is an active volunteer with Eastern Star Church.

Melissa Proffitt, managing partner, Ice Miller

Melissa Proffitt is the managing partner of the Indianapolis office of Ice Miller. She concentrates her practice in employee benefits, co-chairing that practice, and chairs the Firm’s agribusiness and energy practices.  Melissa is also an accomplished community leader, serving on the boards of many community organizations including the executive committee of the Indy Chamber, chair of the Indy Public Safety Foundation, executive committee of Indiana Black Expo, Inc. and vice chair of the Women’s Fund of Central Indiana.

Joe Santucci, chief operating officer, Crowe Horwath, LLP

As chief operating officer of Crowe Horwath, Joe Santucci oversees the firm’s specialized industry groups, internal administrative services, and geographic office leaders. He also serves as the president of the firm’s internal learning and talent development group. Mr. Santucci serves as the presiding officer of the school governing board for Guerin Catholic High School.

“On behalf of our devoted volunteers, participants and staff, I’m pleased to welcome the newest members of our board of directors,” continued Bryant. “Each new board member is an accomplished business professional as well as an engaged member of our community. We’re looking forward to enlisting our new members as we seek to expand and enhance the positive community impact of our programs and events.”

To learn more about 500 Festival’s events and programs, please visit www.500festival.com.

About the 500 Festival

Founded in 1957, the 500 Festival is a not-for-profit organization that produces more than 50 life-enriching events and programs while celebrating the spirit and legacy of the Indianapolis 500 and fostering positive impact on the city of Indianapolis and state of Indiana. One of the largest festivals in the nation, each year more than half a million people attend an event or program produced by the 500 Festival. Since its founding, the 500 Festival has contributed more than $350 million in economic value to Indianapolis. To learn more about the 500 Festival, please visit www.500festival.com, follow us on Twitter @500festival, or on Facebook.


Media Contact:

Sabrina List



Do not show on home page: